The ASC announces the award receivers.

(source ASC newsletter) The ASC has announced the award receivers for 2016 in the ceremony to take place in February 4, 2017, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.
The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award is atributed to Ed Lachman, ASC who has photographed more than 90 titles in narrative, experimental and documentary forms with directors such as Todd Haynes, Steven Soderbergh, Robert Altman, Paul Schrader, Todd Solondz, Sofia Coppola, Werner Herzog, Wim Wenders, Volker Schlöndorff, Ulrich Seidl and Jean-Luc Godard. He directed the documentaries «In the Hearts of Africa», «Life for a Child», «Cell Stories and Report From Hollywood».


Lachman-on-Im Not There-Photo-By-Jonathan-Wenk-775x513

TOP: Lachman on «Im Not There» Photo By Jonathan Wenk

MID: Nancy Schreiber taking a reading 

BOTTOM: Rousselot while filming the stylish horror epic «Interview with the Vampire»
«The Vampire Chronicles (1994)». Photo by Francois Duhamel

Lachman is also known as a visual artist who has had installations, videos and photography at the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Ludwig Museum in Germany and many other museums and galleries throughout the world. His work on «Carol» and «Far From Heaven» garnered him Academy Award nominations, and the HBO miniseries «Mildred Pierce» earned him an Emmy nomination. His next project is the upcoming feature «Wonderstruck».

The ASC Presidents Award willbe given to Nancy Schreiber ASC who has assembled an eclectic list of credits in features, series, commercials, music videos and documentaries. Her cinematography in «Chain of Desire» earned her an Independent Spirit Award nomination, which she followed with an Emmy nomination for her work on the documentary «The Celluloid Closet». She took home the Best Cinematography Award at Sundance for November in 2004, and had previously shared a Sundance Cinematography Award for «My America… Or Honk if You Love Buddha». In addition to serving on the ASC Board of Governors, she was on the board of Women in Film and is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She is also a frequent teacher and lecturer.

The International award goes to the french cinematographer Philippe Rousselot ASC AFC who earned an Academy Award and an ASC nomination for «A River Runs Through It», and he was Oscar-nominated for «Hope and Glory» and «Henry & June», with the former also receiving a BSC Award. His body of work also includes «Dangerous Liaisons» and «The Bear», which garnered ASC nominations, and «Interview with the Vampire», which won a BAFTA and BSC Award. Additional credits include «The Miracle», «Remember the Titans», «Charlie and the Chocolate Factory», «Antwone Fisher», «Sherlock Holmes» and its sequel «Game of Shadows», T«he Nice Guys», and «Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them».

The nominations for best cinematography of the year will be announced in January.